Types of Digital Signature Certificate

Digital Signature Certificate

Digital Signature Certificates (DSC) are the digital equivalent (that is electronic format) of physical or paper certificates. Few Examples of physical certificates are drivers’ licenses, passports or membership cards. Certificates serve as proof of identity of an individual for a certain purpose; for example, a driver’s license identifies someone who can legally drive in a particular country. Likewise, a digital certificate can be presented electronically to prove one’s identity, to access information or services on the Internet or to sign certain documents digitally.

The Digital Signature Certificates are of two types:

Class 2: Here, the identity of a person is verified against a trusted, pre-verified database.


Class 3: This is the highest level where the person needs to present himself or herself in front of a Registration Authority (RA) and prove his/ her identity.

For most of the legal activities like MCA filing, GST registration and migration, etc Class-2 DSC works.

Validity of the DSC varies from 1 to 2 years as per the needs of the users.

Any person can acquire DSC for the cost of Rs.700-1500 as per the different DSC vendors available to the user.

Documents required for DSC

  1. PAN card

  2. Adhar Card

  3. passport size photo


Why to Choose Ovakil

10+ Years Expirience
Pay With EMI Option
Online Tracking
24x7 Support
Featured In
ovakil featured in indiatimes
ovakil featured in theprint
ovakil featured in economic times